Monday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Tuesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Wednesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Thursday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Friday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Saturday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Opened today: 10:00 AM – 08:00 PM 

Stephane Park, why does your label, Aesther Ekme, not have a logo?
A bag ought to complement a woman’s personality, not speak for her. I previously worked for Alexander Wang, where they used a lot of metal hardware. Designers used it as a trademark at that point in time. It seemed to me as if women were being pigeonholed by these kinds of distinguishing features. This is why you won’t find a conspicuous logo on the bags I make; just three dots.

How did your youth in São Paulo influence your style?
São Paulo 
is different to what people generally expect of Brazil. There is not much vegetation there, no forest. The city is a concrete jungle. I like its raw architecture, like that by Oscar Niemeyer or Lina Bo Bardi. The Brutalists of the Seventies built the most beautiful buildings in São Paulo. That’s where my soft spot for linear design comes from.

What does the design process look like for you?
It’s highly intuitive. I get a lot of pleasure from developing a handbag with the ultimate proportions that will suit many different women. I also try to solve problematic issues with bags. For example: how can you carry a laptop around without looking like you’re carrying a laptop?

MontagGeschlossen
Dienstag10:00 – 20:00
Mittwoch10:00 – 20:00
Donnerstag10:00 – 20:00
Freitag10:00 – 20:00
Samstag10:00 – 20:00
Heute geöffnet: 10:00 – 20:00 

Stephane Park, warum verzichtet Ihr Label Aesther Ekme auf Logos?
Eine Tasche sollte die Persönlichkeit einer Frau ergänzen, nicht für sie sprechen. Früher habe ich für Alexander Wang gearbeitet, da gab es viel Metallbesatz. Designer nutzten das damals als Markenzeichen. Mir kam es vor, als würden Frauen durch solche Erkennungszeichen eingeordnet. Deswegen findet man auf meinen Taschen kein auffälliges Logo, bloß drei Punkte.

Wie hat Ihre Jugend in São Paulo Ihren Stil beeinflusst?
São Paulo ist anders, als man sich Brasilien gemeinhin vorstellt. Es gibt dort nicht viel Vegetation, keinen Wald. Die Stadt ist ein Dschungel aus Beton. Mir gefällt ihre rohe Architektur, etwa die von Oscar Niemeyer oder Lina Bo Bardi. Die Brutalisten der Siebziger haben die schönsten Gebäude São Paulos gebaut. Daher stammt mein Faible für Geradliniges.

Wie entwerfen Sie?
Sehr intuitiv. Es bereitet mir große Freude, eine Handtasche mit den ultimativen Proportionen zu entwickeln, die zu sehr vielen Frauen passt. Ich versuche auch, problematische Taschenfragen zu beantworten. Etwa: Wie kann man einen Laptop transportieren, ohne dabei auszusehen, als würde man einen Laptop transportieren?